Free/Libre/Open Source Software Research Track

Details for call for papers for OpenSym 2015, Aug 19-21, 2015, in San Francisco, California.


The research track is looking for submissions on, but is not limited to, the following topics:

  • FLOSS development, including software engineering aspects
  • FLOSS technologies, specially those taking advantage of being FLOSS
  • FLOSS communities, including developer, but also user or business communities
  • FLOSS and innovation, how both are related, and new innovation models based on FLOSS
  • Motivation and incentives to FLOSS development and adoption
  • Business models based on FLOSS and sustainability of FLOSS projects
  • Legal aspects of FLOSS, including copyright and licensing
  • Education and FLOSS
  • Impact of FLOSS in specific domains or technological areas, and FLOSS adoption
  • FLOSS development process, such as code reviews, joining process, etc.


The research paper submission deadline is April 13th, 2015 AoE (March 29th, 2015).

Submitters will be notified on or before May 25th, 2015.

For submission instructions, please see the main call for papers.


Research Track Chairs

  • Carlos Jensen, Oregon State University
  • Gregorio Robles, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Research Track Members

  • Cornelia Boldyreff – University of East London, UK
  • Roberto di Cosmo – Université de Paris VII, France
  • Jesús M. González Barahona – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
  • Georgios Gousios – TU Delft, The Netherlands
  • Robert Hirschfeld – HPI, University of Potsdam, Germany
  • Nicolas Jullien – Institut Telecom Bretagne, France
  • Stefan Koch – Bogazici University, Turkey
  • Bjorn Lundell – University of Skövde, Sweden
  • Jens Lincke – Universität Potsdam, Germany
  • Paulo Meirelles – Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brasil
  • Tetsuo Noda – Shimane University, Japan
  • Carlos D. Santos Jr. – University of Brasilia, Brasil
  • Walt Scacchi – University of California, Irvine, U.S.
  • Maha Shaikh – London School of Economics, UK
  • Megan Squire – Elon University, USA
  • Sulayman Sowe – NICT, Japan
  • Klaas-Jan Stol – LERO – University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Anthony Wasserman – Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley, USA
  • Stefano Zacchiroli – Université Paris Diderot, France
  • Minghui Zhou – Peking University, China
  • Franz Zieris – Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.